Search This Blog

Monday, May 10, 2021

Bang #9 Educators Book Award

The Educators Award Fund creates friendships across borders and promotes cultural understanding. The fund provides money for the Educators Book Award which is given to women author(s) and educator(s) whose work influences thought and actions necessary to meet the needs of today’s complex society.

Criteria for selection include:

  • A topic that is thought-provoking, current, and relative to a wide audience of educators. 
  • A scope that is global, not local.
  • An eye-catching title and book cover with a reader-friendly font.
  • The book must be copyrighted, in its first edition the year preceding the award.

The first Educators Award was given in 1946 to Our Young Folks by Dorothy Canfield Fisher in the amount of $1,000 USD. Since 1969, the award has been given every year except 2016 when none met the criteria.

In 2020 the Educators Book Award in the amount of $2,500 USD was given to Gail Goolsby for Unveiled Truth: Lessons I Learned Leading the International School of Kabul. There were two honorable mentions in 2020: Think Like Socrates by Shanna Peeples and Suffrage by Susan L. Poulson.

Members of the Educators Book Award Committee select the recipients. Each member of the committee receives a copy of the nominated books. After reading and discussing the books, the committee selects the recipients.

The Educators Award Fund is supported through donations. How can YOU be involved? Donate to the DKGIEF and specify the Educators Award Fund. If you are an author and your book meets the criteria, apply for the Educators Book Award. Help the Society with this unique and amazing award.

For more information see helpful links under the committee page for the Educators Book Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts